News
Grid-scale battery storage news from Japan that does not yet name MW, MWh and a company, so it is not in the project registry. Open a story for the full account in English and Japanese.
- 2026-10-14日経BP
Project finance for high-voltage battery storage sites: Nippon Chikudenchi secures financing for 7 sites nationwide
Nippon Chikudenchi announced on October 8 a non-recourse project finance agreement, with SMTB Lease as senior lender, for a grid-scale battery storage business co-developed with Remixpoint covering seven high-voltage storage facilities across Japan. The facilities, held by SPC NC Pioneer LLC, expect revenue from the balancing, wholesale and capacity markets. The article also reports recent milestones at the company's Shunan, Maniwa and Kainan storage sites.
- financing closed; portfolio of 7 sites (individual sites operating / under construction)
- 日本蓄電池
- リミックスポイント
- SMTBリース
- ecoプロパティーズ
- 合同会社NCパイオニア
- CATL
- TMEIC
- デジタルグリッド
- 中電工
- ワイ・ジャスト
- 2026-10-14新電力ネット
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village complete entry into the balancing market with four grid-scale battery projects totaling 8MW/32MWh
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village announced that all four of their joint grid-scale battery projects in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures had entered the balancing market by September 2026, totaling 8MW and 32MWh. Sun Village develops and owns the sites, while Marubeni New Power acts as aggregator handling market bidding and operation.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県寄居町
- 8 MW
- 32 MWh
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 2026-10-14新電力ネット
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village complete entry into the balancing market with four grid-scale battery projects totaling 8MW/32MWh
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village announced that all four of their jointly pursued grid-scale battery projects in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures had entered the balancing market by September 2026. The projects total 8MW of output and 32MWh of storage capacity, with Sun Village developing and owning the sites and Marubeni Shin-Denryoku acting as aggregator.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県寄居町
- 8 MW
- 32 MWh
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 2026-10-14新電力ネット
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village complete entry into the balancing market with four grid-scale battery projects totaling 8MW/32MWh (including Ashikaga City storage site)
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village announced that all four of their jointly pursued grid-scale battery projects in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures had entered the balancing market by September 2026. The projects total 8MW of output and 32MWh of storage capacity. Sun Village develops and owns the sites, while Marubeni Shin-Denryoku acts as aggregator.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県寄居町
- 8 MW
- 32 MWh
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
Attached to:足利市の系統用蓄電池 → - 2026-10-14新電力ネット
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village complete entry into the balancing market with four grid-scale battery projects totaling 8MW/32MWh
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village announced that all four of their jointly developed grid-scale battery projects in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures had entered the balancing market by September 2026. The projects total 8MW of output and 32MWh of storage capacity. Sun Village develops and owns the sites, while Marubeni New Power acts as aggregator.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県寄居町
- 8 MW
- 32 MWh
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 2026-10-14日本経済新聞
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village complete entry of grid-scale batteries into the balancing market
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village announced that all four grid-scale battery projects first announced in October 2025 completed entry into Japan's balancing market (需給調整市場) in September 2026. The projects are developed and owned by Sun Village in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures, with Marubeni Shin-Denryoku acting as aggregator for market bidding and operation.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県大里郡寄居町
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 丸紅
Attached to:寄居町の系統用蓄電池 → - 2026-10-14日本経済新聞
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village complete entry of grid-scale batteries into the balancing market
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village announced that all four grid-scale battery projects first announced on October 17, 2025 completed entry into Japan's balancing market (需給調整市場) in September 2026. The projects are developed and owned by Sun Village in Ashikaga (Tochigi), Honjo (Saitama) and Yorii (Saitama), with Marubeni New Power acting as aggregator for market bidding and operation. The two companies are also promoting a full-package grid battery offering to third parties.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県大里郡寄居町
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 丸紅
Attached to:足利市の系統用蓄電池 → - 2026-10-14日本経済新聞
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village complete entry of grid-scale batteries into the balancing market
Marubeni New Power and Sun Village announced that all four grid-scale battery projects first announced in October 2025 completed entry into Japan's balancing market (需給調整市場) in September 2026. The projects, developed and owned by Sun Village in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures, are operated by Marubeni New Power as aggregator. Capacities of the four projects are not stated in the text.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県大里郡寄居町
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 丸紅
Attached to:本庄市・サンヴィレッジ・8MWh系統用蓄電所(仮称) → - 2026-10-14日本経済新聞
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village complete entry of grid-scale batteries into the balancing market
Marubeni Shin-Denryoku and Sun Village announced that all four grid-scale battery projects first announced in October 2025 completed entry into Japan's balancing market in September 2026. The projects, developed and owned by Sun Village in Tochigi and Saitama prefectures, are operated by Marubeni Shin-Denryoku as aggregator.
- operating
- 栃木県足利市、埼玉県本庄市、埼玉県大里郡寄居町
- 丸紅新電力
- サンヴィレッジ
- 丸紅
Attached to:本庄市・サンヴィレッジ・8MWh系統用蓄電所(仮称) → - 2026-10-14日経クロステック(xTECH)
Asking Toshiba, a veteran aggregator, about the future of grid-scale battery storage (page 2)
In this interview page, Toshiba says it has aggregation contracts with about 120 grid-scale battery sites, expected to reach about 200 by fiscal year-end, mainly high-voltage sites but increasingly extra-high-voltage ones. It explains its revenue-sharing model, says battery revenue in Japan currently relies almost entirely on the balancing market, and expects wholesale arbitrage to grow in importance, though institutional reform may be needed.
- planned
- 長野県下高井郡
- 東芝
- 合同会社OPTIRON北信
Attached to:木島平蓄電所 → - 2026-10-13SDGsナビ [ SDGs NAVI ]
Sustainable HD signs equipment sales contract for one grid-scale battery storage project
Sustainable Holdings announced it signed an equipment sales contract on October 7, 2026 for one grid-scale battery storage project under development in Japan. The counterparty, contract value and location were not disclosed, and the contract does not indicate completion, grid connection or commercial operation.
- under development (equipment sales contract signed)
- サステナブルホールディングス株式会社
- 2026-10-13住宅新報
Keiyo Gas enters domestic market with grid-scale battery storage station
Keiyo Gas has begun full commercial operation of its first domestic grid-scale battery storage station in Isesaki, Gunma Prefecture, to meet balancing needs arising from expanded renewable energy. It follows the company's participation in a US grid battery project announced in June 2025. The article text is a short excerpt and gives no capacity figures.
- operating
- 群馬県伊勢崎市
- 京葉ガス
Attached to:伊勢崎市・京葉ガス・8MWh系統用蓄電所(仮称) → - 2026-10-13電気新聞
Hirasol runs grid storage station under 'nega-posi' operation, offering balancing capacity at twice its rated output
Hirasol Energy, a University of Tokyo startup, has passed pre-qualification for 'nega-posi' (negative-positive) operation in the balancing market for its Izumizaki Village grid storage station in Fukushima Prefecture. The station was approved for a maximum bid volume of 3,800 kW, twice its 1,900 kW rated output. Only the opening portion of the article is available; the rest is behind a paywall.
- operating
- 福島県泉崎村
- 1.9 MW
- ヒラソル・エナジー
- 2026-10-10エキサイト
[Equipment Sale Agreement Signed for Grid-Scale Battery Storage] Contract for One New Project Completed on October 7, 2026
Sustainable Holdings Co., Ltd. (Shibuya, Tokyo) signed an equipment sale agreement on October 7, 2026 for one domestic grid-scale battery storage project it is developing. The counterparty, contract value, detailed location and equipment were not disclosed, and the company notes the agreement does not mean completion, grid connection or commercial operation.
- equipment sale agreement signed (pre-construction/development)
- サステナブルホールディングス株式会社
- 2026-10-09TAOKE ENERGY株式会社
TAOKE ENERGY develops 2MW battery storage station in Shima, Mie Prefecture; plans to enter primary balancing market in September, contributing to decarbonization
TAOKE ENERGY announced that grid connection of its 2MW high-voltage battery storage station in Shima, Mie Prefecture was completed on April 17, 2026. The station is scheduled to join the primary balancing (offline) segment of the balancing market around September 2026. The company says it has already entered the primary balancing market with three projects, the first on November 26, 2025, without notable trouble.
- grid-connected (connection completed April 17, 2026); market participation planned September 2026
- 三重県志摩市
- 2 MW
- TAOKE ENERGY株式会社
Attached to:三重県志摩市阿児町2MW高圧蓄電所 → - 2026-10-09PR TIMES
Project Finance Agreement Signed for Grid-Scale Battery Storage Business
Nippon Chikudenchi (Japan Battery Storage), as originator and co-investor with Remixpoint, announced that SPC NC Pioneer LLC has signed a non-recourse project finance agreement with SMTB Lease as senior lender. The financing covers a portfolio of seven high-voltage grid-scale battery facilities across Japan, expected to earn revenue in the balancing, wholesale and capacity markets.
- financing secured
- 日本蓄電池株式会社
- 株式会社リミックスポイント
- 株式会社ecoプロパティーズ
- 合同会社NCパイオニア
- SMTBリース株式会社
- 2026-10-09PR TIMES
Equipment sale agreement signed for a grid-scale battery project: one new deal concluded on 7 October 2026, moving toward commercialisation of the storage site
Sustainable Holdings signed an equipment sale agreement on 7 October 2026 for one domestic grid-scale battery project it is developing. The counterparty, contract value and detailed location were not disclosed. Note: the page headline refers to a September pre-shipment equipment integration test, but the body text covers only this contract.
- equipment sale agreement signed (development)
- サステナブルホールディングス株式会社
- 2026-10-09PR TIMES
Notice of Project Finance Agreement for Grid-Scale Battery Storage Private Fund
eco Properties, which serves as asset manager for a private fund investing in grid-scale battery storage, announced that the fund has signed a non-recourse project finance agreement with SMTB Lease. The financing covers seven high-voltage grid battery facilities nationwide held through NC Pioneer GK.
- development (financing secured)
- 株式会社ecoプロパティーズ
- SMTBリース株式会社
- 合同会社NCパイオニア
- 2026-10-06Yahoo!ファイナンス
Keiyo Gas extends decline; enters domestic grid-scale battery storage business
Keiyo Gas announced on the 5th that it opened its first domestic grid-scale battery storage station in Isesaki, Gunma Prefecture, with full-scale operation starting October 1, 2026. The move is part of its renewable energy business under its 2025-2027 medium-term management plan, following its June 2025 investment in a US grid battery project. The stock continued to fall, with limited positive impact from the news.
- operating
- 群馬県伊勢崎市
- 京葉ガス
Attached to:伊勢崎市・京葉ガス系統用蓄電所(仮称) → - 2026-10-06トレーダーズ・ウェブ
Keiyo Gas falls for second day; enters domestic grid-scale battery storage business
Keiyo Gas announced on October 5 that it opened its first domestic grid-scale battery storage station in Isesaki, Gunma Prefecture, with full-scale operation starting October 1, 2026. The move is part of its 2025-2027 medium-term management plan and follows its June 2025 investment in a US grid battery project; the share price continued to fall, with limited positive impact.
- operating
- 群馬県伊勢崎市
- 京葉ガス
Attached to:伊勢崎市・京葉ガス・8MWh系統用蓄電所(仮称) → - 2026-10-04ストレートプレス
Miyawaka Battery Storage Station continues post-completion operational preparations: equipment inspection and maintenance carried out in September
Sustainable Holdings says its grid-scale battery project, Miyawaka Battery Storage Station in Miyawaka, Fukuoka Prefecture, completed aggregator testing in August 2026. In September 2026 it continued post-completion work, including equipment checks, maintenance, coordination with the manufacturer on parts replacement and review of interconnection test information. The company says it will keep working with related parties toward stable operation.
- completed; aggregator testing done, pre-operation preparation and maintenance ongoing
- 福岡県宮若市
- サステナブルホールディングス株式会社
Attached to:宮若蓄電所 → - 2026-10-04毎日新聞
[Miyawaka Storage Station continues post-completion operational preparations] Equipment inspection and maintenance carried out in September
Sustainable Holdings says its grid-scale battery project "Miyawaka Storage Station" in Miyawaka, Fukuoka, completed aggregator testing in August 2026. In September 2026 the company continued post-completion work: equipment checks, maintenance, coordination with the manufacturer on parts replacement, and review of interconnection test information. No capacity figures are given.
- completed; post-completion operational preparation (aggregator testing completed)
- 福岡県宮若市
- サステナブルホールディングス株式会社
Attached to:宮若蓄電所 → - 2026-10-04株式会社東急パワーサプライ
Tokyu Power Supply Fully Enters Battery Storage Station Business, Starting Operations in FY2026 – Contributing to Power Supply-Demand Stability and Effective Use of Renewable Energy
Tokyu Power Supply is entering the grid-scale battery storage business, with its first storage station in Omaezaki, Shizuoka starting operation in April 2026, followed by stations in Tsu, Mie (May) and Ota, Gunma (June). The company will also own storage and aggregate third-party storage, aiming to absorb surplus daytime solar and improve procurement economics for its retail business. Construction is by Sun Village; specific capacities are not given in the text.
- operating (Omaezaki from April 2026; Tsu and Ota planned May/June 2026)
- 静岡県御前崎市(ほか三重県津市、群馬県太田市)
- 東急パワーサプライ
- サンヴィレッジ
Attached to:TPS静岡御前崎01蓄電所 → - 2026-10-03環境ビジネスオンライン
ORIX's first use of outside capital for grid-scale battery storage development, expanding its asset management business (Kinokawa Battery Station)
ORIX has started construction of two grid-scale battery storage stations, Yufu (Oita, 70MW/280MWh) and Yonezawa (Yamagata, 75MW/309MWh), co-funded with three external investors including a consolidated subsidiary of Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking. It is ORIX's first battery project using outside investor capital, with ORIX holding 23.7% and acting as asset manager. Yufu is scheduled to start operation in 2028 and Yonezawa in 2030.
- under construction
- 大分県由布市、山形県米沢市
- 145 MW
- 589 MWh
- オリックス株式会社
- 三菱UFJ信託銀行株式会社
- オリックス・リニューアブルエナジー・マネジメント株式会社
Attached to:紀の川蓄電所 → - 2026-10-03Yahoo!ファイナンス
PowerX surges after delivering storage systems to Daiwa House Industry's grid battery station
PowerX shares jumped after the company announced it delivered four "Mega Power 2700A" battery systems to a grid-scale storage station built by Daiwa House Industry in Kurate, Fukuoka. The "DREAM Storage Battery Fukuoka Kurate" station began operating on September 16 and is Daiwa House's first high-voltage storage station since entering the battery business.
- operating
- 福岡県鞍手郡鞍手町
- パワーエックス
- 大和ハウス工業
Attached to:DREAM Storage Battery福岡鞍手系統用蓄電所 → - 2026-10-03株探
PowerX extends sharp gains after delivering storage systems to Daiwa House's grid battery station
PowerX shares rose sharply after the company announced it had delivered four "Mega Power 2700A" storage systems to a grid-scale battery station built by Daiwa House Industry in Kurate, Fukuoka. The "Fukuoka Kurate Grid Battery Station", Daiwa House's first high-voltage storage site since entering the battery business, began operating on September 16 and connects to the Kyushu grid.
- operating
- 福岡県鞍手町
- パワーエックス
- 大和ハウス工業
- 2026-10-03PR TIMES
[Nippon Chikudenchi] Battery installation begins at grid-scale storage facility "NC Kainan-shi Kizu Battery Station" in Kainan, Wakayama
Nippon Chikudenchi announced that grid-scale batteries have been installed at the NC Kainan-shi Kizu Battery Station in Kainan, Wakayama, developed through a fund formed jointly with Remixpoint. Installation by contractor Y-just began on September 26, 2026, and the facility will target the balancing market, JEPX, the capacity market and renewable output smoothing. No capacity figures are given.
- under construction (battery installation started)
- 和歌山県海南市
- 日本蓄電池株式会社
- 株式会社リミックスポイント
- 株式会社ワイ・ジャスト
Attached to:NC海南市木津蓄電所 → - 2026-10-02RBB TODAY
[Nippon Chikudenchi] Grid-scale storage facility "NC Shunan-shi Yuno Battery Station" in Shunan, Yamaguchi Prefecture begins operating in the balancing market...
Nippon Chikudenchi and Digital Grid announced that the grid-scale battery facility "NC Shunan-shi Yuno Battery Station" in Shunan, Yamaguchi Prefecture began operating in the balancing market on September 25, 2026. Nippon Chikudenchi handles development, operation and site management, while Digital Grid provides aggregation and market-entry support via its platform.
- operating
- 山口県周南市
- 日本蓄電池株式会社
- デジタルグリッド株式会社
Attached to:NC周南市湯野蓄電所 → - 2026-10-01ビジネスジャーナル
Generating power on logistics warehouse roofs and sending it to offices: the 'equipment leasing model' adopted by a Mitsui & Co.-affiliated fund
Four companies, including Mitsui & Co. Realty Management and a West Holdings subsidiary, signed a basic agreement in September 2026 to supply rooftop solar power from logistics facilities to offices, commercial facilities and hotels under an 'equipment leasing model', targeting over 10MW by March 2028. The article also covers West HD's pivot to grid-scale battery storage. This includes its first extra-high-voltage storage plant in Akitakata, Hiroshima (about 10,000kW), which began receiving power on April 1, 2026, and a plan to develop 6 extra-high-voltage sites totaling 770MWh by FY2030. Storage is a substantial part of the article rather than its sole focus.
- operating (Akitakata storage plant began receiving power April 2026); rooftop scheme at basic agreement stage
- 広島県安芸高田市
- 三井物産リアルティ・マネジメント
- e-dash
- ウエストホールディングス
- ウエストエネルギーソリューション
- JERA Cross
- 三井物産
- TMEIC
- 東芝エネルギーシステムズ
- みずほ銀行
- JA三井リース
- ウエストO&M
Attached to:ウエストニュージーランド村系統用蓄電所 → - 2026-09-30下野新聞社
TAOKE ENERGY enters the primary balancing (FCR) market with two projects held by SPC "PP6 LLC"
TAOKE ENERGY announced that two grid-scale battery storage sites developed through its SPC "PP6 LLC", located in Kakamigahara, Gifu and Oyama, Tochigi, entered the primary balancing market in September 2026. This follows the two projects' entry into the balancing market in July, and operation is handled by subsidiary POWER POOL as aggregator.
- operating
- 岐阜県各務原市、栃木県小山市
- 4 MW
- TAOKE ENERGY株式会社
- PP6合同会社
- POWER POOL
Attached to:岐阜県各務原市那加大門町2MW蓄電所 →
RSS feed
Add this link to your feed reader to get every new story.
http://seknowledgebank.com/bess/rss/news